Comedy blog

Tony Law big winner at Chortle Awards 2013

tony law chortle awards results

Tony Law

Tony Law’s conquest of the comedy world continued as he picked up two prizes at the Chortle Awards 2013.

Following his nomination for Best Show at the Edinburgh Fringe 2012 and numerous television appearances, Law has been climbing the comedy ladder and was awarded both Best Club Comic and Best Show for his magnificent Maximum Nonsense.

Another comedian his profile has shot up in recent months is Doctor Brown who added Best Breakthrough Act to his Edinburgh Comedy Award.

Other winners included Best Newcomer Lucy Beaumont and Best Character or Sketch Act Pappy’s.

The biggest disappointment of the night was when Chortle failed in its plan to get Louis CK to come along to the awards by nominating him in the innovation category for selling an album/DVD on his website.

Biggest (and most innovative!) comedian in the world CK still won the prize, however, beating off competition from Weirdos, which put on a production of Steven Spielberg’s Hook – raising more than £4,000 for charity – and the Alternative Comedy Memorial Society, which regularly puts on unique productions throughout the year that have seen acts perform live beep test trials while drinking milk.

The full list of winners at the Chortle Awards 2013:

Best newcomer in association with ALCATEL ONE TOUCH
Lucy Beaumont
Nominees: Adam Hess, Sunil Patel, Tommy Rowson

Breakthrough act in association with Impressive PR
Doctor Brown
Nominees: Pat Cahill, Daniel Simonsen, David Trent

Club comic
Tony Law
Nominees: Susan Calman, Phil Nichol, Paul Sinha

Best compere
Susan Calman
Nominees: Jarred Christmas, Joe Lycett, Jonathan Mayor

Character or sketch act
Nominees: Austentatious, Dr Brown, Brian Gittins, Marcel Lucont, Pappy’s

Music and variety award
Boy With Tape On His Face
Nominees: The Horne Section, Loretta Maine, The Rubberbandits

Best show
Tony Law: Maximum Nonsense
Nominees: Susan Calman, Jim Jefferies, Pappy’s

Best tour
Stewart Lee: Carpet Remnant World
Nominees: Boy With Tape on His Face, Greg Davies, Mark Thomas

Best DVD
Fist Of Fun Series 2
Nominees: Louis CK, Stewart Lee, Glenn Wool

TV award
The Thick Of It
Nominees: Alan Partridge, Fresh Meat, Peep Show

Radio award
John Finnemore’s Souvenir Programme
Nominees: Irish Micks and Legends, Horne Section, News Quiz

Internet award
Richard Herring’s Leicester Square Theatre Podcast
Nominees: Pappy’s Flatshare Slamdown, Peacock and Gamble, Comedian’s Comedian

Award for innovation
Louis CK (for selling an album/DVD on his website)
Nominees: Weirdos, ACMS

Off-stage contribution
Tommy Sheppard of the Stand Comedy Club

Lifetime achievement award
Ray Galton and Alan Simpson – writers of Steptoe and Son, Hancock’s Half Hour and more

Categories: Comedy blog, News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s